Chocolate Fudge Cake Pops

What does everyone think about cake pops? Apparently they’re the new craze from the US of A and they’re basically cake and icing in a ball and sometimes on a stick. Or lollipop cakes. Through most of 2012 I was hearing a lot about these, but didn’t really have an occasion to make them. Waiting for a reason – what was I thinking? You’d think I’d realise by now that any time is cake time! Anyway, I made these for my work colleagues way back in December 2012 (which seems like a lifetime ago!) for two reasons; firstly because two people were leaving our office and secondly for someone’s birthday. I figured these would work for both occasions as they were a cake but not just birthday cake. Anyway, it was decided that Cake Pops were the way to go and oh wow they were absolutely delicious. I also had so many nice comments from all my lovely work people in fact some people didn’t believe I had actually made them. I’m taking this as a compliment, even if it isn’t one!

 

So how did I make these wonderful pops of chocolate goeyness? Well first things first, make a cake, a basic chocolate cake. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy in fact you could just make one from a box or even buy a shop bought one. I used the recipe below…

6oz margarine
6oz caster sugar
6oz self raising flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 large eggs
2 tbsp cocoa
2tbsp hot water

Mix the ingredients all together and pour into a cake tin. Bake for 25-30 mins at 170°C/335°F/Gas Mark 3
Once the cake is cooked let it cool and crumb it in a food processor
Next measure out 300g of the cake crumbs and mix with 150g of chocolate frosting – I used Betty Crocker’s chocolate fudge frosting yes, shop bought I know but as it’s my favourite and I’ve yet to be able to make anything that tastes as good as this, I thought why on earth not!
Once everything is mixed together, shape into ball shapes with your hand. Then lay on a plate and place in the freezer for 30 mins
Once they’re out of the freezer, cover in melted chocolate and lay on greaseproof paper
The final step is to drizzle over the white chocolate – let the melted chocolate drip off the spoon and move your hand over the cake pops
Now just let the chocolate dry and then get eating
Voila, all done

-Lau

Leave a Reply

