My little cookbook problem

Recently it’s become abundantly clear to me that I have a problem. This problem is that I have an inability to not buy a book which piques my interest. It’s like an inevitability. As soon as I think ‘oh that’s a really good book, I want to make every recipe in there’, I know that five minutes later I’ll be the proud owner of said book. It’s like the wheels have been set in motion and things are out of my control! Which is how this has happened:

Yes our kitchen possesses three piles of recipe books, over half of which are mine, eek thing have clearly got out of hand! The most recent purchases stemming from my little ‘problem’ are The Hairy Dieters cookbook and Lorraine Pascale’s Fast, Fresh and Easy which I bought because I wanted to make the Lemon and Blueberry Cupcakes and Chocolate Orange Zebra Cake respectively. Granted both recipes are delicious, both books are brilliant, but did I really NEED to buy the books? I’m thinking possibly not. I’m sure I could have Googled the recipes and found something that would work just as well. That’s what I did at Christmas after all when I really, really, really wanted to make Nigella’s Sticky Gingerbread Cake and I managed to find the perfect recipe. It was online, it cost me absolutely zilch and the outcome were these scrumptious squares of gingery loveliness!

So I think that’s what I’m going to try and do this year – not a resolution as such, it’s too late for a resolution after all! – but a promise to myself. A promise that means I won’t spend a silly amount of money on books that I then only use once or twice and a promise that means I’ll consider carefully if I need that book. Who knows with the money I end up saving maybe I can purchase my all-time ultimate dream kitchen gadget – the KitchenAid Artisan Mixer!

– Fi xx

One thought on “My little cookbook problem

  1. They propose to test for acquired Pitbulls, or they are just trying to
    get rid of them. This information focuses on the appearance and the kind of
    dinosaur that the egg came from. Rather they are just simple tasks that would not need super human intelligence or talent.

Leave a Reply

