Whoopie Pie love

20130128-140328.jpgRecently I made some Whoopie Pies to help soften the blow when a friend returned to work after her wedding. She’s been a big fan of them since I first made them for work peeps way back in December 2011, and has been put out ever since that I haven’t made them again! For the wedding celebration version I didn’t play around with our original whoopie pie recipe too much, as they are delicious just as they are. All I did was make the buttercream pink, which actually went down a treat, much to my pleasure. I realised two things after everyone’s reaction; firstly everyone loves these gorgeous treats of deliciousness (including me) and secondly I don’t make them often enough – once a year is nowhere near enough! Let’s be honest they aren’t tricky or expensive to make as all the ingredients are usually in my fridge/cake making cupboard. With this thought in mind I wanted to share some of the whoopie pie recipes I’ve seen recently, with the promise that I will make some of these soon.

Choc-Mint Whoopie Pies – chocolate and mint is one of my favourite flavour combinations so these are a must I think!

Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies – Another classic flavour combination, perhaps second only to mint and chocolate!

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies – I don’t know about you but I always think here’s something sophisticated about red velvet anything, and as I’ve never made anything that’s red velvet before I think I might start with these!

Raspberry-Lemon Whoopie Pies – I’m intrigued by this flavour combination. As raspberries and lemons always make food taste very fresh, but I’m intrigued as to how that would work in a cakey item like whoopie pies….

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies – I love ginger biscuits and gingerbread cake so there’s no reason why I won’t absolutely love Gingerbread Whoopie pies as well!

Banana Whoopie Pies – Now I know Lau will loathe these with a passion as they feature bananas, but I will still have to give these a whirl as I adore bananas in anything and everything. I always feel I’m being healthy when a banana is involved, even if I’m clearly not!

What do you think, are you inspired by the above ideas? I for one can’t wait to get started!

– Fi x

2 thoughts on “Whoopie Pie love

  1. Pingback: Chocolate whoopie pies with vanilla buttercream | Lau's Rambling Corner

Leave a Reply

