Butternut Squash Chocolate Brownies – yes really!

Chocolate brownies are one of my vices, whenever I’m out and there’s a pudding option, I’ll always go for the chocolate brownie – especially if it involves lovely vanilla ice cream! There’s something about those chocolate chewy morsels that just make them addictive in my mind. I adore them. So when I saw this recipe for healthier brownies, which contain butternut squash – yes really! – I was intrigued enough to make them. I mean if I’ve found a brownie that’s only 50 odd calories each, then just imagine how many of those I could eat a day!!

To make 30 odd brownies you will need:
400g butternut squash (peeled and chopped)
100g dark chocolate
4 eggs
200g golden caster sugar
100g cocoa powder
2 tbsp plain flour
2 tsp baking powder

  • Put the butternut squash into a heatproof bowl and splash with water, cover with cling film and microwave on high for 8-10 minutes until it’s soft and cuts like butter
  • Drain off the excess water add the chopped chocolate to the bowl
  • Stir to combine and then use a hand-held blender to create a purée
  • In a seperate bowl whisk the eggs and sugar with an electric hand mixer until light and fluffy, then fold in the cocoa powder, plain flour, baking powder and a pinch of salt
  • Next fold in the chocolate squash purée and transfer to a greased and lined square tin
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes on 180°C until the brownies have set
  • Leave to cool in the tin for at least an hour before cutting into squares and eating!

The one thing to note about them is that they are quite cakey, and aren’t that chewy, but I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing. I like variation in my brownies after all!

– Fi xx

20130209-222257.jpg

4 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Chocolate Brownies – yes really!

  1. Pingback: Oreo Brownies | cook bake and eat

  2. Pingback: Pinterest Corner #32 – Marshmallow Brownies | fisdailyponderings

  3. Pingback: Amazingly delicious gooey marshmallow brownies | cook bake and eat

  4. Pingback: Avocado Brownies – sort of | cook bake and eat

Leave a Reply

