Mini Egg Blondies

I know a lot of people freak out when they visit the supermarket on January 1st and are faced with a wall of Easter treats. I am not one of those people. In fact I’m the complete opposite, I embrace the wondrous moment and start stockpiling. You see I’m addicted to Cadbury Mini Eggs, there’s something about the creamy chocolate inside, hard crisp shell and glorious pastel shades of these little bites that has me squealing in excitement and reaching for a bag (or four!). So yes as soon as they appear in the shops I’m all over them – I mean they are only available for three months of the year, so you HAVE to make the most of them.

Now considering I’m obsessed with them it’s odd that I’ve never baked with them, well apart from popping them on Easter Nests! However, I recently found this recipe online of mini egg blondies and my interest was piqued. I’ve never tried blondies – I usually go straight for a brownie recipe if I’m making a tray bake – but thanks to the addition of my favourite Easter goodies I was intrigued enough to give them a whirl. And my goodness am I pleased that I made them – they are so good that I’ve made them three times in the last month alone, oops! The recipe makes about 30 small squares and each square is chock-a-block with mini eggs – my ideal scenario!!

What you’ll need:
2 cups plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups mini eggs

And how to make these wondrous bites:

  • Mix the flour, baking powder and salt together
  • Melt the butter and then cream with the sugars in a separate bowl (we used an electic mixer)
  • Add the vanilla extract and eggs and mix until creamy and fully combined
  • Slowly add in the flour mixture until fully mixed
  • Fold in the Mini Eggs
  • Spread batter into a greased cake tin, roughly 8 x 8 x 2 inches
  • Bake for 25 minutes at 175 degrees until a skewer is inserted in the center and comes out clean
  • Leave to cool before slicing and eating…

I’m sure you’ll agree that they are the best things you’ve ever tasted! It’s just a shame you can’t make them year round, although I imagine they’d be just as good with a different chocolate as a substitute – perhaps I’ll give m&m’s a whirl next!

– Fi xxx

7 thoughts on “Mini Egg Blondies

  1. Pingback: March Happy Things | fisdailyponderings

  2. Pingback: This week | fisdailyponderings

  3. Pingback: Work trips, baking and a shopping spree | fisdailyponderings

  4. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies | cook bake and eat

  5. Pingback: Oreo Brownies | cook bake and eat

  6. Pingback: March foodie round-up | cook bake and eat

  7. Pingback: Baking for Easter | cook bake and eat

Leave a Reply

