Morning Rolls

A couple of weeks ago I was having a bit of an obsession with soup. I think it was because the weather was miserable, but all I fancied eating was something warm, filling and different. That’s the best thing about soup there are so many different flavour options. Anyway with my soup I wanted bread, bread to smother in butter and dunk into my leek and potato or country veg. I therefore decided to make some rolls that could go in the freezer, that way I could take a couple out in the morning and enjoy them warmed up in the evening with my soup. Now we all know that I like to make loaves of bread, but i’ve actually never made rolls. How is that possible you ask? Well put simply, I like what I know, so I do what I know. End of story. Anyways I scouted around for a roll recipe and found a Morning Rolls recipe in one of my favourite DK books.

I decided to keep the rolls quite small so that I could have a couple at a time, rather than one big one. The size was similar to a snooker ball and made 18 if that helps you work out what you want to do sizewise.

Ingredients –
500g white bread flour
2tsp light soft brown sugar
7g fast-action dried yeast
2tsp salt

Place all the ingredients in a bowl. Add 275ml of tepid water to form a soft dough.
Knead for 10 minutes, then place in a lightly oiled bowl and leave in a warm place to double in size – about 1 hour.
Turnout onto a floured surface and knead briefly. Divide and shape into equal shaped balls. Place these onto oiled baking trays and leave to rise for 30 minutes.
Place in a preheated oven (200C) for 20 minutes. They should be brown on top and sound hollow when tapped.
Once they were cooled I put most of them in the freezer for another day. When you do want them just defrost before warming in the oven.

Lau xx

2 thoughts on “Morning Rolls

  1. Pingback: A Jolly June Round Up | cook bake and eat

  2. Pingback: Focaccia | cook bake and eat

Leave a Reply

