Chocolate and Marshmallow Fluff Pie

A couple of weeks ago I saw this recipe on another blog – here – and straight away I just knew I would have to give this a go. Not two days later I was heading back to the parentals for a barbecue and suddenly remembered the recipe. One quick trip to Sainsbury’s to buy marshmallow fluff later and I was in baking heaven.

Here’s the recipe that I used (doctored slightly from the original at milkbubbletea). First off you will need:

  • 1/2 tub of marshmallow fluff
  • 15 squares of galaxy
  • 1 cup of plain digestive biscuit crumbs
  • 1 cup of plain flour
  • 3/4 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup of salted softened butter
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
And all you do is:
  • Pre-heat the oven to 180°C
  • Whisk the eggs, butter and sugar together
  • Mix in the flour, digestive biscuit crumbs and baking powder
  • Grease a tin – I used a brownie tray and spread with half of the dough to create the base and edges of the pie
  • Spread the marshmallow fluff over the top and then add the chocolate
  • Cover with the rest of the dough and bake until golden
  • I baked mine for about 25 mins and it was more like a tray bake, so less time would increase the gooeyness

This was at the start of the heat wave in the UK so I was pleased to be baking in my Mum’s kitchen as there is lots more room and numerous windows and doors to open to keep you cool – bliss. Cooking in my London flat right now isn’t exactly fun! I followed the recipe from Becky’s blog exactly for the biscuit base and top, but I used less marshmallow fluff and less chocolate than Becky did. I’m not sure why I did this but I thought it might be too much. It wasn’t so next time I’d definitely add more. Because there was less filling in the middle, and because I used a rectangular tin, my version ended up more like a tray bake. So I cut it into squares before serving. It was actually perfect for the barbecue as the chewy squares of biscuit, marshmallow and cake were easy to eat while lazing around on the lawn. None of this needing a plate or fork malarkey!

What I most loved about this recipe was that it used marshmallow fluff, I mean it’s just not something I’ve ever cooked with before. I often use marshmallows in rocky road or crispy cake or throw mini ones in with popcorn, but I’ve never thought of using marshmallow fluff. This is something that has been quickly rectified.

Lau xxx

p.s. one more tip if you have marshmallow fluff: spread it on a rich tea or digestive biscuit and then add a layer of chocolate spread – delicious!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate and Marshmallow Fluff Pie

Leave a Reply

