Perfectly Simple Welsh Cakes

Greetings friendlies, how are you this merry day?

Today on this here blog I’m going to share one of my all time favourite cakey things with you – Welsh Cakes! My history with these baked goodies goes a little bit like this: for as long as I can remember whenever we’ve seen my Mum’s best friend, nicknamed the Welsh Wizard (thanks to her Welsh heritage), she’s always armed with freshly baked Welsh Cakes. It’s one of the main things I remember from being knee-high to a grasshopper – arriving at her house to the aroma of Welsh Cakes and eating about twelve during our stay or having her produce a tin of them as soon as she gets out of her car!

It’s fair to say that I’ve become addicted to these lovely yummy morsels and it’s most definitely a tradition that I adore. They are frankly absolutely scrumptious in all their squishy, doughy, fruity brilliance and I love them, but considering my absolute love for them it’s absolutely ridiculous that I’ve never made them – a travesty I know! Anyway last Christmas this friend gave us her family recipe and the baking stone needed so that we could get on with making them ourselves. Hooray! So finally after ten months we finally got round to making them and let me just say they did not disappoint, they were as scrumptious as I’ve always remembered and I now just might make them all the time!

So anyway here’s the secret family recipe so all you lovely people can give them a whirl, you lucky things!

When you consider the five ingredients it’s even more ridiculous that I’ve not made them before as they are all store cupboard essentials, so no special trip to the shop is needed. Shame on me! So anyway you will need:

  • 8 oz self raising flour
  • 3 oz margarine
  • 4oz caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • A sprinkle of raisins/sultanas

And to make them, it couldn’t be easier, just follow these six simple steps!

  1. Rub the flour, sugar and margarine together
  2. Add the eggs, which you’ll have beaten already and mix together to form a dough
  3. Just before the dough is ready to roll out, sprinkle in the sultanas or raisins
  4. Roll out the dough until it’s about a cm thick and cut out your shapes – circles are traditional
  5. Pop onto your heated and buttered baking stone  and heat for about 5 minutes on each side, until they start to brown
  6. Eat! It’s customary to eat them warm with a sprinkling of sugar and spread of butter but it’s not essential.

20131006-200651.jpg

20131006-200705.jpg

20131006-200718.jpg

20131006-200728.jpg

Let me know if you give them a whirl and fall in love with them as I’ve done – I’ll be surprised if you don’t! Happy baking.

– Fi xx

One thought on “Perfectly Simple Welsh Cakes

  1. Pingback: October Foody Wonders | cook bake and eat

Leave a Reply

