Banana and Walnut Bread

So every now and again I have this grand plan that I’m going to eat copious amounts of fruit instead of the usual crap that has infiltrated my diet. When this happens I head off to the supermarket and stock up on apples, bananas and some more exotic looking/sounding fruit and make a pact to switch the chocolate for the fruit. And then 24 hours pass and my enthusiasm wanes and the bananas go brown before I remember they even exist. When this happens I tend to whip up my standard banana cake with cream cheese frosting, courtesy of the Australian Women’s Weekly Kids Cookbook that I’ve had for eons. But a few weeks back I decided I needed to try something new and step out of my comfort zone – I’m not a fan of such things if I’m honest! So I decided on a banana and walnut bread. Yes big things happening over her, I’ve added walnuts and made a bread instead of a cake – get me. Give me a day or so and I’ll be taking over the world with giant leaps like this!

So back down to it I decided on a recipe from DK’s Step-by-Step Baking book and I’m glad it’s the one I chose as it’s super-easy and has helpful instruction pictures. Phew! So here we go, here’s the recipe. First off you’ll need…

  • 375g strong white bread flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 125g walnut pieces (chopped)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 ripe bananas (chopped, oh and peeled obvs!)
  • finely grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 125 ml vegetable oil
  • 200g granulated sugar
  • 100g soft brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Now down to the method (it’s easy I promise!):
First off preheat the oven to 180oC and grease your loaf tins (2 x 1lb loaf tins)
Sprinkle flour into the tins and tap to remove all the excess flour
Sift the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt into a bowl and mix together.
Mix in the walnut pieces and create a well in the center

IMG_0896

Mash the bananas with a fork until they create a smooth paste and add to the beaten egg with the lemon zest

IMG_0895

Add the oil, granulated sugar, brown sugar, vanilla and lemon juice and stir together

IMG_0898

Pour 3/4 of the banana mixture into the well in the flour and stir well
Gradually blend in the dry ingredients, adding the remaining banana mixture until the mixture is smooth

IMG_0899

Spoon the mixture into the tins

IMG_0900

Bake for 35-40 minutes until the loaves start to shrink away from the sides of the tins and a skewer comes out clean
IMG_0902

Enjoy your banana bread and you know it’s fine to have for breakfast as it’s a bread AND it contains fruit – winning!

– Fi xx

One thought on “Banana and Walnut Bread

Leave a Reply

