Apple and Blackberry Crumble

The other day when I was stood in the fruit section of Sainsbury’s I had the sudden desire to make a crumble, I have no idea where this desire came from as it’s been years since I’ve had a crumble and it’s always apple crumble that I choose. Anyway with the dreadful weather outside I decided to embrace the comforting thought of crumble and I set about making one. After trawling the internet for a delicious (and easy) sounding crumble I came across one that’s meant to be healthy – although at 450 calories a serving (according to My Fitness Pal) I’m not wholly convince on its health merits.

The original recipe can be found here, and below is my version (my version generates enough crumble for four people).

Ingredients:

  • For the filling:
  • 1 large Bramley apple
  • 1 punnet of blackberries (150g)
  • 85g Demerara sugar
  • a squeeze of lemon juice

For the topping:

  • 115g plain flour
  • 85g butter
  • 25 g Demerara sugar
  • 40g porridge oats
  • 10g mixed nuts and seeds (I used walnuts, pumpkin seeds and almonds)

And to make this lovely winter warmer, simply do the following:

  • Peel, core and chop the apple up into chunks and then mix with a couple of drops of lemon juice
  • Throw the blackberries and apple and sugar mixture into your baking dish and mix up so the ingredients are spread out evenly.
  • Rub the butter and sugar together until you have breadcrumbs.
  • Add the rest of the topping ingredients to the breadcrumbs and stir together
  • Sprinkle over the fruit filling so there are no gaps
  • Place in the oven for 45 minutes on 200 ̊C until the fruit is cooked and the juices bubble through the crumble topping
  • Leave to cool for a couple of minutes before serving with a massive dollop of COLD custard or ice cream. Hot custard is wrong and therefore not allowed.

So there we have it, the crumble recipe that is *healthy* and the only thing that got me through the first few days of January 2014. What a lifesaver!

– Fi xx

One thought on “Apple and Blackberry Crumble

  1. Pingback: January 2014 Eats | cook bake and eat

Leave a Reply

