Fabulous Fudge

So let’s talk about fudge, lovely creamy, crumbly, delicious fudge. I’m a big fan of this stuff, and like to ignore that fact that I’m essentially eating a vat of butter with each mouthful as it’s just so darn delicious. The taste alone is reminiscent of childhood day trips when you’d be rewarded with the crinkling sound of the paper bag as it was unfurled and your Mum proffered you the bag to choose your very own piece. What dreams are made of I’d say.

As much as I love fudge (all flavours, I’m not picky) I’d never considered making it myself. I assumed it was so super-duper hard and complicated that it would involve some form of life endangering sugar boiling. Apparently that’s not the case, who knew?! Certainly not me, but thankfully the Domestic Sluts sorted me out, and when I finally got round to making fudge just before Christmas it was a revelation. Honestly one of the simplest things to make, and not only is it delicious but people also think you’re some sort of domestic marvel – when in reality all you’ve done is melted and stirred some ingredients. Bonus!

I made two types of fudge for Christmas, a plain fudge (recipe below) and this mince-pie fudge and both were marvellous, although possibly sweet enough to send you into a sugar coma after a couple of crumbs – so you’ve been warned. One thing I would say is that you should stir the fudge until you get a really golden colour as I stopped a little too soon on the plain fudge recipe and it didn’t quite set properly.

You can check out the plain fudge recipe I used below or read the original recipe that Domestic Sluttery posted here.

  • 230g slightly salted butter
  • 453g caster sugar
  • A tin of condensed milk
  • Melt the butter
  • Add the sugar and mix together.
  • Add the condensed milk and stir continuously for 10 minutes whilst bringing to the boil. Once its bubbling, turn the heat down and stir for another 10 minutes
  • Pour into a greased brownie tin and leave to cool.
  • Cut into squares and EAT!

See easy peasy – right! I bet you can’t wait to give it a whirl. I enjoyed making eating the fudge so much that I’m now trying to decide on what flavours to make next. Currently I’m torn between this layered mint chocolate fudge or this Peanut Butter Fudge one. I also saw someone tweet about a Malteaser fudge recently, which sounds intriguing I just can’t remember who it was! What do you think, any thoughts on what flavour I should try next?

– Fi xx

p.s. I’m a bad food blogger and failed to take ANY pictures of said fudge. What a fool I am!

Leave a Reply

