Brunch at Tom’s Kitchen

Let’s jump back to the beginning of January when I wrote the below review of my brunch with my family at Tom’s Kitchen, over on This Rambling Corner. I thought that seeing as this here blogalog is all about food and eating I should probably share it on here too. So here we go. Enjoy!

This time last week I was well on my way to a perfect Sunday. I had met up with my sister and Dad and we were running around London (FYI I love this city). Our route went a little like this; along the Southbank, across the Millenium Bridge, around St Paul’s, through the city to Farringdon tube (it’s the oldest in London you know), down to Aldwych, into Covent Garden, across Trafalgar Square, into St James’ Park and through Parliament Square before crossing the Thames at Westminster and running past the London Eye back to the Royal Festival Hall. Wow I’ve exhausted myself just typing that! Anyway back to the point of this post… So after we ran our 5 miles we had a quick wash up and change into ‘normal’ clothes before we met up with the Mumbles and youngest sister, who had been reading and revising in the RFH while we were running. The five of us headed for brunch at Tom’s Kitchen at Somerset House (see there’s the point of the post!) for a final brunch before returning to work, university and general life things. It was so much fun. And that’s what I wanted to discuss today; the wonderfulness that is brunch at Tom’s Kitchen.

This was my second trip to Tom’s Kitchen and it was just as good as the first. We were sat at a lovely round wooden table with booth type seating and even though it was 11am the restaurant really wasn’t that busy so we were served really quickly. Which was perfect as I was starving! Tom’s Kitchen only serves brunch on a Sunday but the brunch menu is extensive. Obviously you get the usual brunch menu options; eggs, french toast and bagels but they also serve salads, steaks, crab cakes and risotto too. Like I said so much choice! I opted for the Eggs Benedict as it’s my favourite breakfast food ever and this time it didn’t disappoint. I mean is there seriously anything better than a doughy english muffin, runny orange poached eggs smothered in hollandaise sauce and salty crispy bacon? Nope I don’t think so. Add in some freshly squeezed orange juice and this is definitely the best way to refuel after a Sunday run.

The rest of my family went for Eggs Royale, Toasted Bagel with Smoked Salmon (x2) and Scrambled Eggs on Toast, based on the speed at which we all finished our food I think it’s safe to say that all the dishes were delicious. Next time I go I think I’ll try the bagel as it looked so good and the salad that came with it had the most delicious dressing (I stole my sister’s as she doesn’t do salad). Although saying that I did see another tables order of Belgian waffles and they also looked good. Hmm decisions, decisions, I think it’s safe to say that you can’t go wrong with the food choices here and that I should go there more often!

Below are a few pics of some of the food, I’m afraid I don’t have a photo of everything consumed as some people just ate too fast!

eggs benedict

toasted bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon & berry smoothie

I think we can all agree that Sunday’s don’t get better than delicious brunches and energetic runs – at least in my humble opinion. But what do you think? Any lovely London brunch places that I must try? Or has anyone else ever been to Tom’s Kitchen and can recommend any of the other dishes there?

Laura xx

Brunch at Tom’s Kitchen was originally posted on This Rambling Corner on Sunday 12th January 2014

Leave a Reply

